A TIVA Era Begins

A TIVA Era Begins

Staff of the 2014 TIVA Board

Following the successful TIVA presidency of Jerry Griffith with many innovations and a record membership, Brian Grundstrom now steps into Jerry’s shoes and takes over the reins. Formally Vice President of TIVA, Brian offers an insider’s view and super-charged ideas for growing Television Internet Video Association to the largest affiliation of video production professionals in the mid-Atlantic region. His fiery dedication and attention to detail will assure the association’s continued success.

New board members include: Jonathan Stein, head of the programming committee following the popular Jim Miller. Tara Garwood, secretary and head of the publications chair is taking over for Carl Randolph who is now the PEER Awards chair. New board member Bill Coughlan is serving as the current vice president while Todd Clark acts as the government liaison. TIVA veterans Lisa Laden, Rachel Targoff and newcomer  Arron Shirley are all very excited to be helping with the programming committee. Rachel also heads up the Peer Promise at the Peer Awards. And last but never least, Colin Sandy as the sponsorship chair to help build relations between TIVA and other Washington, D.C. organizations.

The Old with the New

Ten-year veteran Anne Schwab handles all volunteer activities, as well as the income and new memberships from events. She is often the photographer at meetings and spearheads events like the Christmas Party. Anne Hall continues as treasurer working with the accountants; Darryl Diamond continues as the TIVA webmaster; James Thompson as seminar leader. Finally Matt Harmelin acts as the social media master keeping TIVA current on channels like Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn. The board looks forward to a year of excellent programming as well as a cooperative relationship with sponsors such as Word Wizards Inc, Docs In Progress, Duo Media Productions and Creative Management Services among others.

For more about TIVA board members, check out the official TIVA Website. http://www.tivadc.org/

Importance of the Peers

Peer Awards

Honors in the DC video production community don’t get much bigger than the annual TIVA Peer Awards. These awards, which have been around since 1997, pay tribute to excellence in local media and are one of the most sought-after awards in the area. Every November the TIVA community comes together at the National Press Club to give out this honor in a variety of different categories. Some of the categories include best independent short, best music video, best documentary and best children’s program. This year brings the addition of a few new categories, such as government production, foreign language  and for one year only, a special Docs in Progress category, proudly sponsored by Word Wizards Inc. The winner will receive a $500 cash prize.

The Peer Promise Competition

Since TIVA recognizes that it’s important to help pave the way for the next generation of great film and media makers, it created the Peer Promise Competition. This special category is the high school component of the Peer Awards, where students are invited to enter their individual or class media projects in film and video. These projects are then judged on the basis of their creativity while being compared to other schools in the DC, Virginia and Maryland region. These students may be awarded a certificate of merit for their work, or even be chosen as one of three regional finalists who are invited to the awards with the winner receiving a gold award while the other receive a silver and a bronze. The best thing about the Peer Promise competition is that its absolutely free to enter, so there is absolutely no reason for future filmmakers not to put their best work forward.
Peer Awards2

Backstory and Details

The awards were started by the former Washington Film and Video Council way back in 1997 before merging with the ITVA-DC Video Festival. The three levels of awards for each category are silver, bronze and gold. The gold winner receives a trophy to take home while silver and bronze winners receive a foil-embossed certificate and the option to order a trophy if they wish. While the early-bird deadline for submission just ended, there’s still plenty of time for film and video makers to get their work in by the regular deadline of June 30th. Entries will still be accepted up to July 31, but a late fee will apply. The full list of entrance prices and fees can be found on the awards Q&A page. Video professionals can register on the online portal. There is a two-year eligibility window for entries: this year the window is between June 30, 2011 and June 30, 2013.

 A Community Comes Together

As someone who has volunteered to help at the past two peer award ceremonies, I can honestly say it is a truly memorable evening. It is one of the few times a year that the DC Metro Area production community comes together to really celebrate one another. Everyone is there supporting the impressive body of work on display, and to win of course, in a very sympathetic and celebratory atmosphere. Its a time for people to reconnect with each other and catch up about their lives, as well as past and future projects. Of course the awards themselves are special since its the DC film-and-video community congratulating their best and brightest. The fact that peers and fellow media/production professionals are the ones voting makes these awards incredibly unique and personal.